Monday, 26 March 2018

Send from your own business name

The SMS Express platform allows you to create what's called a Sender ID.

A Sender ID is similar to a Caller ID - meaning who the caller is.

In order for you to send text messages and get Replies, our platform has 2 mobile numbers hardwired in, so if a customer replies to you, you'll see this in the REPLIES screen in your cloud account.

But many clients want to send from their own business name, and this is perfectly okay as long as you don't need replies.

If you go to the SenderID screen in your SMS Express account, you can create as many Sender IDs as you wish, plus set one as the default.

Also, when you are in the bulk message screen ready to send your sms broadcast, you can change your SenderID on the fly.


You have a maximum of 11 characters in a Sender ID. This displays comfortably on all phones.

Just bear in mind you cannot get replies back into your SMS Express account, plus replies forwarded to your email will not work when you customise the Sender ID, so if you do need replies, don't use this function, or have your own mobile number as the SenderID, and have replies sent back to your handset, bypassing the platform.
 
But what if you don't need replies but want to allow people to optout even though you have customise your Sender ID?

No problem. We have you covered!
In your Bulk Message screen, simply click the OPTOUT PLACEHOLDER button which plonks a customised link into your SMS. So if customers want to optout, they simply TAP the link instead of replying, and their number is added to the Blacklist in your account so you cannot send any further SMS to them. 

The optout example on the right is using the
OPTOUT PLACEHOLDER button.


Whereas the bottom example would only work if you did not change the Sender ID (leaving it in Repliable mode, which is the default).
 

If you are running promotions, under the Spam Act you must allow people to optout. We don't want you to get into legal hot water, and annoy a customer,
so whether you use a Sender ID or not, the SMS Express platform will automatically "blacklist" your people who opt themselves out, so you cannot send a bulk message to them again. 


If this is confusing then please contact and we'd be delighted to help you.